eckrot.blogg.se

Microsoft sql server client 64-bit windows 8
Microsoft sql server client 64-bit windows 8










I wound up tweaking Sohail's technique a bit by adding steps to revert the SQLServr.exe and SQLOS.dll files so that I could then apply SP4 fully. We have a few new servers we're looking to roll out with Windows 2012 but we didn't feel the need to upgrade SQL Server since the 2005 version has all the functionality we need and the cost to license SQL 2012 on these boxes would have been a 5-figure sum.

#Microsoft sql server client 64 bit windows 8 install#

The place I found Sohail's technique invaluable was when I needed to install SQL Server 2005 Standard on Windows Server 2012.

microsoft sql server client 64-bit windows 8

Everything ran fine the second time around. Instead, I just canceled the install rebooted the machine and ran the install again. There was no point in following the rest of Sohail's method since I already was using a SP4 version of SQLServr.exe and SQLOS.dll. I then ran into the same error Sohail had where the SQL Server service failed to start. I just told it to Ignore and it continued. The first error I received was when Setup tried to start the SQL VSS Writer. I was using the installer that already had SP4 applied so maybe that explains the difference. I had a different experience loading SQL Server 2005 Express on Windows 8. In any case you can create a VM and install SQL Server 2005 with SP3/Sp4 to copy the files for Windows 8 From an installation of SQL Server 2005 SP3 or SP4 copy SQLSERVR.EXE and SQLOS.DLL files and put them in your SQL install folder.įor STEP 5 above: Although I didn't try looking into SP4 / SP3 setup for SQLSERVR.EXE and SQLOS.DLL but if you don't have an existing installation of SQL Server 2005 SP3/SP4 then maybe try looking into the SP3/SP4 EXE (Compressed file).

microsoft sql server client 64-bit windows 8

For more information, see the SQL Server Books Online topics, "How to: View SQL Server 2005 Setup Log Files" and "Starting SQL Server Manually." Extract sqlncli.msi / sqlncli_圆4.msi from SP3 or SP4.Perform the following steps (Only 64bit version of SQL Server 2005 Developer Edition tested on Windows 8 Pro 64bit)

microsoft sql server client 64-bit windows 8

But I also had to perform additional steps.










Microsoft sql server client 64-bit windows 8